6 Classes of Wheat Infographic

Did you know there are six basic classes of wheat?

Wheat is the principal U.S. cereal grain for export and domestic consumption. It is also the fourth leading U.S. field crop and our leading export crop. Wheat has two distinct growing seasons. Winter wheat, which accounts for 70-80 percent of production, is sown in the fall and harvested in the spring or summer. Spring wheat is planted in the spring and harvested in late summer or early fall.

There are several hundred varieties of wheat, which fall into one of six classes. Where each class is grown depends on rainfall, temperature, soil condition and tradition. In addition to time of year that they are planted and harvested, wheat classes are also determined by hardness, color and shape of kernels.

Please feel free to share the infographic below from the Wheat Foods Council.

Did you know that there are six basic classes of wheat? #infographic #funagfact

ProAg Quick Links

Agent Toolbox Grower Toolbox Careers

ProAg News

Corn Price Increases and Prevented Planting

This article documents the very late planting that is occurring in 2019, leading to the prospects of lower yields and higher than normal prevented planting from crop insurance....
Get ProAg updates via email
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now