In order to protect U.S. swine and pork exports from African swine fever, officials at the USDA have announced the launch of a new “foreign animal disease protection zones” in two Caribbean territories. The two locations, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, will allow the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to restrict the movement of animals and conduct surveillance to see if African swine fever is present. The pre-emptive measure is out of caution as the U.S., Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands have yet to see any infections. Read the full story.