Senators Urge EPA to Increase RVOs Under RFS

“While these proposed increases are encouraging, these volumes continue to underestimate the existing potential of the biodiesel and renewable diesel industries in our states,” the senators wrote. “We believe the biodiesel industry can do more and that EPA should demonstrate more confidence in the RFS program’s ability to drive growth. Increasing biomass-based diesel and advance biofuel volumes would encourage investment in capacity and new fuel development. Further, EPA must accurately account for small refiner economic hardship exemptions in the final rule. … It is critical that EPA appropriately account for any small refiner economic hardship exemptions that it reasonably expects to grant during the 2019 compliance year in the final rule, or EPA will not be able to fulfill its duty to ensure RVOs are met.”

“We have made great progress through the RFS in diversifying our nation’s fuel supply while creating and sustaining jobs, strengthening local economies, generating tax revenues, and improving energy security,” the senators wrote. “We urge you to continue to increase annual RVOs for biomass-based diesel and advanced biofuels and to ensure that, once set, the annual RVOs are fully met.”

  1. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI),
  2. Roy Blunt (R-MO),
  3. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT),
  4. Sherrod Brown (D-OH),
  5. Maria Cantwell (D-WA),
  6. Bob Casey (D-PA),
  7. Susan Collins (R-ME),
  8. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV),
  9. Joe Donnelly (D-IN),
  10. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL),
  11. Dick Durbin (D-IL),
  12. Joni Ernst (R-IA),
  13. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA),
  14. Deb Fischer (R-NE),
  15. Chuck Grassley (R-IA),
  16. Maggie Hassan (D-NH),
  17. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND),
  18. Mazie Hirono (D-HI),
  19. John Hoeven (R-ND),
  20. Angus King (I-ME),
  21. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN),
  22. Patrick Leahy (D-VT),
  23. Ed Markey (D-MA),
  24. Claire McCaskill (R-MO),
  25. Jeff Merkley (D-OR),
  26. Jerry Moran (R-KS),
  27. Chris Murphy (D-CT),
  28. Patty Murray (D-WA),
  29. Gary Peters (D-MI),
  30. Jack Reed (D-RI),
  31. Pat Roberts (R-KS),
  32. Bernie Sanders (I-VT),
  33. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH),
  34. Tina Smith (D-MN),
  35. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI),
  36. John Thune (R-SD),
  37. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA),
  38. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and
  39. Ron Wyden (D-OR).

Source: Western Farm Press

ProAg Quick Links

Agent Toolbox Grower Toolbox Careers

ProAg News

An Economist Talks Turkey

Few foods are tied as closely to one holiday as turkey is to Thanksgiving. At almost every Thanksgiving feast an enormous turkey is one of the central attractions. But how much will it cost? Before shelling out your hard-earned money for a large bird, there are five fast financial facts I think you should know....

New Mode of Action to Stop Insects

Farm Progress talked with Kevin Chen, CEO, Crop Enhancement, a venture-capital-funded company based in San Jose, Calif., with a different way to control crop pests: a spray-on barrier that keeps pests out of crops....
Get ProAg updates via email
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now